Eclipse Star: Genesis Chapter Sixty-Five

June 7, 2010 at 9:46 pm (Channel 70 news, Eclipse Star: Genesis) (, )

Eclipse Star: Chapter 65

“Scout’s Honor”

Recap: Last time, Joshua pitted the group against each other in a game of Hide n’ Sense, with Kyle technically coming out the victor (though Lindsey did in fact truly win). Directly after, Joshua had Chris power up to his max after everyone else did the same, showing them that the gap between their power and Chris’ has nearly closed. Derek, however, demonstrated that his own strength is far beyond Chris both previously and currently. As everyone wraps up the day, Chris decides not to inform them of Charles’ warning of an attack on the city.

-Chris, Derek, Austin, Danny, Willy, Kyle, and Kevin trek out to the woods with backpacks slung over their shoulders, intending to spend one Guy Night camping in the snow.

Kevin: Did you find out if your grandma was safe?

Chris: Yeah, I was told she got out of the house before Syrus even showed up, so as far as I know she’s safe but still somewhere where I don’t know where she is…or something like that.

Derek: Who told you that?

Chris: Just a neighbor near where her house was.

Derek: From what you say, it sounds like Jack just told you she was fine to calm you down.

Chris: I wouldn’t exactly say I’m calm, but I’m in no rush to bum around the city asking for questions.

Austin: I’m sure she’s fine. If she needs to stay hidden, then so be it. We’re all in the same boat here with Jack sending our parents off to who knows where. We’ll find them when this is all said and done, but if we go looking right now we’ll just put them at risk.

Chris: Right, exactly.

Derek: I still don’t like sitting on my hands like this.

Danny: We’re not sitting on our hands, Derek. We’re going camping!

Chris: Couldn’t convince the others to come with us?

Austin: Nah, they’re tired or girls or Jack, so we’ll just let them chill while we get a night away from it all.

Kyle: Could I point out that being this far north, we can’t be much more away from it all?

Kevin: How far do we want to go before setting camp?

Derek: Further. I’ll decide when it feels right.

Chris: Hey, no complaints here, as long as we’re not just going up and over the peak or something.

Austin: What, you’re not up for a little rock climbing?

Chris: No heights.

Willy: Uh, you can fly, right?

Chris: Yes.

Willy: So what’s up with the whole heights thing?

Chris: I’ve just never particularly been a fan.

Derek: I’ll remember that next time I have to fight you. “Chris does not like heights.” Should come in handy.

Chris: You try rawking me through another building like that crap you pulled a while ago and I’ll punch your dick off.

Austin: Off?

Chris: That’s right. Not just punch, punch it off. With an uppercut that tears it off.

Derek: Gonna have to be a big uppercut.

Austin: Oh whatever, I’ve seen you in the locker room; you’re no bigger than everyone else.

Derek: You can’t judge off a shower-look. That doesn’t count.

Kyle: I gotta side with Derek here. The shower causes shrinkage.

Danny: Yeah, besides, you gotta let it…you know…

Chris: Danny, stop right there, because we don’t need to go any further. New topic.

Derek: So you and Lindsey.

Chris: Newer topic.

Austin: So Kyle and Leena.

Chris: Better.

Kyle: Hey whoa now, who said anything about Kyle and Leena? She’s totally a b-, uh, well, she’s, well you know.

Derek: Go ahead and say it Kyle. Say she’s a bitch. Go ahead, I dare you.

Kyle: Nah, that’s okay. Besides, that’s not important. Mostly, she doesn’t like me.

Kevin: Actually, I’ve heard her talking with Lindsey about you.

Kyle: Whoa really, seriously? Good stuff?

Kevin: Well not really anything specifically, just bringing your name up.

Austin: Oh ho, that’s good stuff. Girls don’t just name-drop without meaning to.

Willy: Yeah, I’ve got to agree. Every girl I’ve dated mentioned my name to Danny multiple times before I actually asked her out.

Danny: It was a good system while it lasted. I just, you know, wish they would have talked about me more…

Austin: That’s because the girls that liked you were talking to me.

Danny: They were? Why didn’t you tell me?

Austin: Because I didn’t think you’d like them. They were cheerleader types, real shallow and boring.

Derek: Bitches.

Austin: Exactly.

Danny: But hot?

Austin: Exceptionally.

Danny: Oh. Uh, thank you?

Willy: Soon as we get home Danny we’ll go find you someone to your liking.

Danny: Exceptionally hot?

Willy: Definitely.

Kevin: You know, there’s a lot more to women than just looks.

Derek: Yeah, you’ve got to be careful that they don’t have a personality or something. Ruined so many relationships when I learned she had a personality and mind of her own.

Kevin: No that’s, that’s not what I meant.

Chris: Oh come on, you’re telling me you guys don’t like girls with some personality?

Danny: We’re talking about boobs, right?

Kyle: Ooh, I agree, big personalities are a must.

Chris: Whatever, I’m with Kevin here.

Austin: Chris, dude, it’s just us guys up here.

Chris: Oh yeah. (Looks around). You seen how much Lindz nips up here? Holy jeez.

Kevin: (Facepalm). I don’t know how I fit in with you children.

Austin: So we’re back on the topic of Lindz, huh?

Chris: Nope, slight oversight, newerest topic. Anybody figured out how toowAAAH~!

-The ground under Chris’ feet suddenly gives out as he falls into a cavern.

Austin: Whoa, Chris!

-The others rush over to the hole and crowd around.

Austin: (Yelling in). Chris! Are you okay down there?!

Chris: (Yelling back up from a distance). Yeah, I’m okay!

Kevin: Chris! What can you see around you?!

Chris: Um, there’s some dude dressed like a candy cane down here.

Kyle: Whoa seriously?

Chris: Psych!

Austin: Alright, Chris, we’ll get something to pull you out of the hole, alright?! (Looks around). Guys, help me find something.

-The others nod and begin looking as Derek rolls his eyes and floats down the hole after Chris.

Austin: Oh right, we have flight now.

-Everyone jumps down the hole and lands next to Chris. They take a look around before responding.

Danny: Whoooooooooa…

-The group finds themselves looking at a massive ice cavern completely lit up from light bouncing around all the ice crystals. The cavern seems to be endless in scope.

Kyle: It’s like some stronghold of isolation or something down here.

Austin: No kidding.

Chris: How far back does this go?

Austin: Beats me. (Shrugs). Well, let’s go check it out.

Chris: What? I thought we were camping.

Austin: We are. Spelunking is totally a part of camping. Now are you guys coming or what?

-Austin is already walking off by himself. Everyone else utters agreements and runs to catch up with him.

*          *            *            *            *

-Morning has hit as the group at the Lodge finally wakes up.

Lindsey: (Groggily coming down the stairs with Leena). Oy, I could use a lot more sleep right about now.

Leena: We totally should. I mean, it’s not like we have anything to do today.

Lindsey: Yeah, but then I’ll feel like we just wasted a whole morning.

Scott: (Walking in between them). Ladies, I’m glad I found you both in such good moods this morning because I have a proposition for you. You both seem to be great friends and that’s important for what I’m about to say.

Lindsey: Showers. That’s what we forgot.

Leena: Right. Long showers.

Scott: Hey, I’m down for whatever.

Jack: (Coming down the stairs). Scott, leave my girlfriend and my girlfriend’s friend alone, please.

Scott: Fine. Hey anyone seen that Grid chick lately? (Walks away).

Lindsey: Shower?

Leena: Definitely.

*          *            *            *            *

-Back at the ice cavern, the group looks tired and their clothes have been torn in places.

Kyle: (Yawning). Dude, how long have we been searching?

Chris: Um, at this point? I lost track.

Kevin: I’d say by now it’s morning.

Austin: But man, wasn’t last night SWEET?!

Kyle: Yeah, that’s one adventure I’m not gonna forgot for a while.

Derek: For a while there even I thought we weren’t making it out alive.

Danny: Oh man, no one’s gonna believe us though!

Willy: That’s the shame of it. I guess they’ll never know what happened.

-Everyone looks at the camera and winks.

-They suddenly step into a room full of weaponry of all sorts. Swords, axes, blades, knives, and all forms of weapons shimmer the entire room, stuck into the walls.

Derek: What the hell is this stuff doing down here?

Austin: I have no clue, but AWESOME!

-Austin runs up to the wall and starts look it up and down.

Kevin: (Inspecting some swords). They had to be down here for years, but they don’t look rusty.

Chris: Maybe the ice preserved them?

Kevin: Maybe.

Danny: Well I wanna take something back.

-Danny reaches for a halberd and gets a jolt that throws him across the room.

Danny: Oh ow.

Derek: What just happened?

Danny: I don’t know but I don’t want anything anymore.

Derek: Or maybe you’re just a pussy.

-Derek walks over to a really large battle-axe and gets the same sort of jolt that hit Danny, sending Derek across the room as well.

Willy: Maybe we shouldn’t touch these?

Chris: Yeah maybe…(Starts looking around the room, his eyes darting wildly).

Derek: What’s the point of a room full of weapons if you can’t use ‘em?! (Angrily smacks something else and gets thrown across the room once more).

Austin: Bummer. I guess it’ll just be one of those great mysteries.

Chris: Wait a minute. (Walks up to the wall and looks up a ways). That one.

Derek: What one?

Chris: That one’s different from the rest. (Points). Everything else is stuck into the walls point-first, that sword’s the only thing with the handle jammed into the wall.

Kyle: So go grab it if you’re so smart.

Derek: It’s pointed outward; he’ll slice his hand if he does that.

-Chris grabs an ice chunk and hits the sword, losing his balance in the process.

-He lands on his back with a thud. The sword comes loose and thunks right above his head.

Chris: Ack.

-All the other weapons randomly fall off the wall and clatter around everyone.

Kyle: Wow, well that seemed to work.

-Chris picks up his new sword and looks it over a bit. It has a blue tint to it with a handle that’s hilt curves out on both sides.

-As he’s looking over his sword and everyone else is going about checking out weapons, four new people walk into the hall.

Iess: The hell are you guys doing here?

-Everyone stops for a second, curious as to what to do next.

Kyle: Were these…where these your private stash of weapons or something?

Job: No, they aren’t ours. I assume they’re for whoever wants them.

Grid: That’s a nice sword there, Chris.

Chris: Thanks, I guess.

Austin: You’ve got to give it a name.

Chris: Name?

Grid: Yeah he’s right, swords need a name. Make it a girl’s name.

Chris: Okay. I’ll call it…Rachel.

Derek: What is it with you and the fascination behind that name?

Kyle: Hey, least it’s not Lindsey? Eh?

-Blank stares.

Kyle: Now am I right or am I right?

Fox: I don’t mean to be a bother but I don’t advise staying here for long.

Derek: Why? What have you guys been doing?

Iess: Not your business, but he’s right, we should leave.

Austin: Alright guys, you heard the man. Grab some gear and let’s split.

-Chris looks over some weapons and picks up a pair of elbow blades that look similar to his new sword.

Derek: What’re those things?

Chris: Elbow blades.

Derek: I thought you had your sword.

Chris: I do. It’s just, well, Lindz would have really loved this, so I figured I’d grab her something nice.

Derek: What good can elbow blades do?

Chris: She’s Lindz; she’ll figure something cool.

Grid: Weapons as a girl gift? Really?

Chris: Lindz isn’t a girl; She’s Lindz.

Grid: Well, I bet she’ll like ‘em then.

Kyle: Girls like weapons? Oh man. (He looks around the floor for something cool and throws it into his backpack).

Iess: Let’s move.

*          *            *            *            *

-Back at the Lodge, the other group sits around the TV watching whatever’s on. Glitch is in charge of the remote.

Clinton: Turn back, that looked good.

Leena: There’s nothing good on.

Lindsey: Hold up, go back there. What was that?

-Glitch switches the channel back to see the news.

Jack: Channel 70 News?

Lindsey: I kind of like them.

Jack: Well, you’re special.

Lindsey: (Smiles). Don’t be a jerk.

-The news report starts with the two anchors looking disheveled and tired.

Diana: Good evening, I’m (cough), excuse me, I’m Diana Miranda.

Dave: And I’m Dave Trenton. This is tonight’s news.

Diana: Afternoon news.

Dave: What?

Diana: Afternoon news. It’s not evening yet.

Dave: Holy crap, we do an afternoon newscast now?

Diana: I do every day, but you’re usually too drunk to get here on time.

Dave: Yeah, well, after that crazy shit we went through yesterday, I’m surprised you’re not drunk right now, too.

Diana: Dave! We’re going live! No cursing!

Dave: Hell damn fart, this is the news. (Shuffles papers). Trillium’s Central Mall is back open for regular business now, or at least the west half is. The east half is still under construction, so that means it’s not really worth wasting time shopping just yet.

Diana: Dave, Trillium Central Mall is one of our very, very few sponsors.

Dave: Oh, alright, go buy some expensive shit from the mall then.

Diana: Dave!

Dave: In other news, Zanretha’s president suffered some controversy when we all learned he was messing around behind his wife’s back.

Diana: Allegedly!

Dave: Right, allegedly. (Shakes his head and mouths “nope”).

Diana: President Giftavelli’s official statement was that the woman people saw him with in public is actually his assistant and not an adulteress. We would have the footage from the full interview, but our cameras were unfortunately, um, they’ve suffered some recent technical difficulties.

Dave: Too bad, the real news stays quiet today. Johnny, how’s the weather out there?

Johnny: Well Dave, using the data I’ve collected from my weather balloons and a very reliable fortune cookie, I’d say there is a very good chance of precipitation. Also, “He who plans too far ahead plans his own funeral.” Now that’s a forecast if I ever heard one. Partly cloudy. Back to you guys.

Diana: Thank you, Johnny.

Johnny: Oh, and Sam has breaking news by the way.

Diana: He does?

Johnny: I just know these things.

Diana: Alright then, thank you again, Johnny.

Sam: Dave, Diana, are you there?

Diana: (Holding her earpiece). Oh, Sam, yes, we’re here.

Sam: I have some breaking news to report! Also, Frank fixed our camera.

Dave: Hey that’s good news.

Diana: Alright, we go live to Sam the Go-To Guy. Sam, where are you?

Scene cuts to Sam standing in the middle of the city.

Sam: Hey everyone, it’s me, Sam, and I’m here on this random street in Trillium City.

Dave: Why Sam?

Sam: Because I have a really good feeling that some sort of news is about to happen.

Diana: (Defeated). Oh, I thought you had breaking news.

Sam: I do. I mean, I will, in just a few minutes. Uh, how are you guys doing?

Diana: Sam, we’re okay, but we’ll get back to you when something happens okay?

Sam: No wait, I’m totally serious here. Frank, tell them how serious I am.

Frank: (From behind the camera). No way dude, this is your thing. I just hold the camera.

Sam: Oh, well alright Dave, Diana, I’ll cut back to you guys in the studio I g-

-Things start rumbling and Sam drops his mic.

Sam: Oh no, no! Where’d it go?

Frank: Whoa, you see that guys?

-Dave and Diana in the studio squint at the small monitor they have, trying to get a good look at what Frank’s shooting.

-The group in the Lodge does the same thing.

Dave: The hell is that?

Sam: (Finding his mic and standing back up). Alright, I’m sorry for that. I’m not sure what could have-

Frank: Turn around dude.

Sam: What?

-Sam turns around and sees an army of Hex-Duo robots marching down the street.

-The group at the Lodge freak out.

Lindsey: Jack! How?!

Jack: I don’t know.

Sam: Ladies and gentlemen it appears that there is an…army I suppose, of what may or may not be r-, Frank, do those look like robots?

Frank: Shit dude, this ain’t worth it.

-Frank drops the camera and bolts, letting the camera drop to a position where only Sam’s feet are shown.

-Sam bends down to get in the camera’s view.

Sam: Hey Dave, I think we’ve got another problem down here…

-The robots begin firing on the buildings.

Sam: AH! Dave! I might have to send it back to you guys in a minute here!

Dave: Sam, no, you’re staying out there, alright? Remain calm and don’t let them smash the-

-The robots advance and throw Sam out of the way, stomping the camera as they go.

Dave: Great.

Diana: It seems we’re experiencing some more technical difficulties, eh, hah. (Awkwardly laughing to herself).

Dave: (Getting up). Stall or something. Johnny, let’s go.

Johnny: (Excited). Scabbity-doobity!

-They take off as Diana looks nervously at the camera.

Diana: Uh, in other news…

-The station goes down.

Leena: Glitch, change to another station!

Glitch: I’m trying! It’s not on anywhere else! All the news stations are down!

-Glitch continues trying to click through but nothing’s coming up.

Jack: Damnit, they’re attacking the city but they don’t want to give any warning!

Clinton: Glitch, can you patch into hardware?

Glitch: Yeah, I did it a few months ago when the Octa Rangers challenged us.

Clinton: Can you patch in from here?

Leena: What good would that do?

Scott: Street cams, I see what you’re thinking. They’ve got them placed everywhere. Patch into the city’s DMV computers and you should have full vision of the city.

Jack: That’s a good idea.

Glitch: Yeah, I should be able to do that.

Lindsey: We need the others. Why aren’t they back?

Jack: Someone go get Josh.

Leena: I’m on it.

-She gets up and runs out of the room.

-Lindsey, too, jumps up and runs out the door.

Jack: Lindz! Where’re you going?!

-Lindsey runs out into the snow a ways and plants herself, cranking her Pulse energy as high as possible.

-The group out in the woods suddenly stops in their tracks.

Chris: Whoa, guys, something’s up.

Danny: That’s Lindsey!

Austin: Then let’s go!

-They take off at full speed and rush back to the Lodge.

Lindsey: C’mon guys…

Austin: Lindz! What’s up?!

Lindsey: Austin?

-She stops charging her energy as the rest of the team shows up, the four irregulars included.

Derek: The hell are you so worried about?

Lindsey: Quick, come inside.

-She turns and runs into the Lodge. Everyone else follows.

-When they get to the TV room, Joshua is sitting next to everyone while Glitch continues messing with the TV inputs.

Glitch: We getting anything yet?

Scott: Nope. Still static.

Joshua: Willy, go help him, please.

Willy: Sure. What’re we trying to do?

Derek: And what’s happening.

Iess: They’re attacking, aren’t they?

Derek: What?

Lindsey: How’d you know about the Hex-Duo coming back?

Kyle: They’re back?!

Austin: That’s impossible; Chris totaled ‘em.

Clinton: Apparently they built more.

Willy: Try it now.

Glitch: (His eyes go fuzzy for a second). Got it!

-The TV comes up now that Glitch is patched into the traffic cams. After switching between a couple, they see an army of Hex-Duo robots marching the streets, shooting at buildings as they go.

Grid: I don’t understand; this wasn’t supposed to happen so soon.

Fox: Apparently it is.

Derek: How do you guys know about this?

Fox: We’ve been monitoring Charles Robotics for some time now.

Lindsey: That where you’ve been?

Grid: More or less.

Kevin: What do we do?

Chris: Nothing.

-All eyes turn to Chris.

Derek: Excuse me?

Chris: We don’t do anything.

Lindsey: Chris, you can’t be serious.

Chris: Why? We’ve got a pretty good life up here free from all of this, so why should we give it up?

Austin: If they take Trillium, they take Zanretha.

Chris: So let them! What does it matter who sits in power? We’re still outlaws by all accounts.

Jack: That’s not true. The Legion was being controlled by Octavious but those ties have been severed.

Scott: How do you know that?

Fox: I can assure you, we’ve made sure The Legion is run from the inside once again.

Kyle: Well good for you, but does that mean they’re fighting robots in our place like they should be?

Kevin: We should be out there. They’re trying to draw us out. Isn’t it obvious? Octavious is angry and he wants us to fight again.

Chris: I’m not playing this game anymore. I’m done.

Austin: And what do we do? Just sit here?

Chris: I don’t rule you guys.

Iess: Yes, you do.

Chris: No, I don’t.

Lindsey: (Piecing things together). You knew this would happen, didn’t you?

Chris: Why do you say that?

Lindsey: When you came back, who did you say you talked to?

Chris: A neighbor.

Lindsey: Glitch, switch the patch to Chris’ street.

Glitch: Sure.

-The camera takes a few moments and shifts to show the Charles Robotics building, Hex-Duo robots pouring out into the streets.

Austin: (Almost in disbelief). You lied to us?

Chris: No! I didn’t lie to anyone!

Derek: You told us you didn’t find anything.

Chris: Charles gave me his word that my grandma was okay; that was all he said!

Derek: Wait a minute; you spoke with the head guy?

Chris: Very briefly.

Kevin: Chris, what happened? Please, we need to know.

Chris: He…I was attacked by a group of Hex-Duo robots before Charles offered us a way out. All we’d have to do was sit this week out and it’d all be over.

-Everyone seems astonished. Joshua stands up without saying a word, shaking his head, and leaves the room.

Lindsey: So what’s the point of everything we’ve done? Hmm? Has the last year been a total waste?

Chris: To me? Yeah, it has. I thought you wanted out just as badly as I did.

Lindsey: Not like this. Not this. (She motions to the traffic cams as Glitch cycles through them, showing attacks on every screen change).

Chris: I didn’t know it’d be this bad…

Iess: Well, it is.

Chris: I’m sorry…I just, I’m not the decision maker. Jack, if you say they go, then they’ll go.

Jack: I’m in no position to issue demands anymore. Not until my legs are healed.

Derek: Chris might still have a point.

Leena: Oh great, now he’s ready to give up?

Derek: Hey, I’m not giving up, but that’s an entire army of Hex-Duo out there. I say we let this run its course and strike when they aren’t expecting it. We head out right now and we’re doing exactly what they want.

Leena: Since when are you not impulsive?

Derek: Since they sent a whole army of robots when half a dozen nearly killed us.

Austin: That was months ago. We’re stronger now.

Clinton: Plus, we don’t even know if these are the same model. If they could have built an army to begin with, why didn’t they?

Willy: Maybe they didn’t have the plans worked out?

Glitch: No, it was the cost. The power cells in each Hex-Duo model set Octavious back millions, so they could only fund ten of us.

Austin: See? These aren’t the same robots.

Lindsey: Oh God. Stop the camera.

-Glitch stops cycling the camera, focusing on a lone figure slowly approaching the group marching down the street.

-The robots stop momentarily.

Chris: (He finally looks at the screen). Grandma…?

Jack: Can you give us audio?

Glitch: Yeah.

-Everyone in the room remains silent.

-Barbara continues walking slowly up to the Hex-Duo robots.

-One of them steps forward.

Barbara: (Sorrowful). Charles, tell me you’re not behind this.

Hex-Duo Robot: (Speaking in Charles’ voice). Barb, you’re not supposed to be here!

Barbara: Stop this. Stop this! It’s not worth it! I’m not worth this!

Hex-Duo Robot: I only have override command for another thirty seconds, Barb, please, get out of here!

Barbara: NO!

-The Hex-Duo robot steps forward and grabs Barbara by the shoulders, pleading with her.

Hex-Duo Robot: (Equally sorrowful). I can’t stop Octavious. This is his final push and I can’t stop it.

Barbara: You have to try.

Hex-Duo Robot: I can’t. I’m so sorry…

-The robot seems to power down, dropping to its knees.

-It stands back up, speaking in a normal robotic voice again.

Hex-Duo Robot: Primary functions reinstated.

-The army of Hex-Duo immediately begins advancing on Barbara, gun-arms drawn.

Chris: NO!

-They begin firing energy blasts at Barbara, enveloping her in a continuous explosion.

-Chris’ legs start to give out as Austin and Kyle catch him.

Austin: Come on man, stay with us.

-The smoke clears as Barbara remains standing. She looks around while the robots seem confused, unsure why she isn’t dead.

Chris: What?

Barbara: HA!

-The camera goes instantly goes dead as Barbara does…something.

Lindsey: Chris, what do we do?

-Once more, all eyes are on Chris.

Chris: We go to war.

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

