Eclipse Star: Genesis Chapter Forty

May 10, 2009 at 9:08 am (Eclipse Star: Genesis) (, )

Eclipse Star: Chapter 40

“Breaking Further”

 

Recap:  Following the destruction of the Legion’s base by the Hex-Duo robots, the surviving members of Jack’s team began the longest evening of their lives, running for safety and a good place to hide.  Jack decided that it would be best for him to go check for any more survivors at the base, although his overall goal was to lead the pack of murderous robots away from the others.  Once returning to the ruined base, the entire squadron of androids attacked Jack with him narrowly escaping but learning a few valuable lessons in the process.

 

Hex-Duo 8:  (The robots are still dodging flaming hailstones caused by Jack).  Hey!  What are we supposed to do about this weather?!

 

Hex-Duo 1:  Just wait it out Number Eight!  It’ll pass eventually!

 

Hex-Duo 6:  No, I’m tired of this stalling.

 

-Hex-Duo 6 looks up into the clouds and fires a solid blast deep into them, forcing the night sky to erupt into a hellish blue and white flash.

 

-All the other Hex-Duo robots cover their eyes and shield their faces.

 

-The fire rain stops and the sky returns to normal.

 

-The nine robots land and brush themselves off.

 

Hex-Duo 2:  (Tapping its head, frantically trying to jog its memory banks for answers).  Hey Six, that wasn’t in the readouts.  How’s he doing all of this?

 

Hex-Duo 6:  I already told you all, he’s using one of those stones that his group found in the woods.  It isn’t an ability that’s natural to him so it wouldn’t read out in his genetic makeup; it would show up in the memory files.

 

Hex-Duo 4:  Well we can’t exactly be fully prepared in things regarding their memories.  I mean, the memory files only go back about half a year.  Anything before that and we weren’t able to get it translated into the computers.

 

Hex-Duo 6:  They found those stones about three months ago, so you have no excuses.  Who has the memory files uploaded right now?  (Looks around, none of the robots seem to be responding).  Well who has it?

 

Hex-Duo 9:  (Quietly speaking up, way in the back).  Seven has it…

 

Hex-Duo 2:  (Tapping its head).  Dammit that’s right; I forgot that the last thing Seven did before he shut off all communication with us was tap into the shared memory files.

 

Hex-Duo 6:  He’s trying to hide details from us now…

 

Hex-Duo 8:  What does that mean Six?

 

Hex-Duo 6:  It means that Seven is definitely working against us at this point and will have to be destroyed.

 

Hex-Duo 9:  (Worried again).  Why would he do that?

 

Hex-Duo 6:  I don’t know; he was defective right off the assembly line.

 

Hex-Duo 4:  How did you know all about the stones if we didn’t have the memory files to work with?

 

Hex-Duo 6:  (The robots all turn their attention to Six, partly curious of the answer and partly curious to see if Six will destroy Four for asking such a risky question).  I was smart enough to look into all the data files I could when I had access to them during training.  You all should have been doing the same, but now it’s too late for that so we’ll just have to work with what we’ve got.  We’re still stronger and smarter than any of these kids.  The only advantage they have are four small stones that they can only use for short amounts of time.  They’ll run out of tricks before long and then they’ll fall one after another.

 

Hex-Duo 1:  So Six, what should we do in the meantime?

 

Hex-Duo 6:  For now we wait and see if any more of them are stupid enough to come looking for their fallen allies.  By tomorrow we patrol the city and any target we find we terminate upon contact.  How does that sounds?

 

All Hex-Duo:  Hooah!

 

*          *            *            *            *

 

Derek:  (Sneaking the group around alleyways).  Come on, everyone move faster.

 

Leena:  We can’t, we’re tired and we need a place to sleep for the night.

 

Derek:  We don’t exactly have that now, do we?

 

Austin:  No, we don’t.  (He’s holding his stomach and wincing from every step).  But if we could find any place to rest I’d appreciate it.

 

Kyle:  Seriously Derek, we’re all pretty badly injured.  I mean, Austin here could keel over any second.  Look at him, he won’t admit it but he’s been coughing blood for the past 6 hours.

 

Austin:  (Trying to hide his condition from everyone else as best he can).  Me?  Nah, I’m fine.  Don’t stop on my account.

 

Derek:  (Looks across the street).  Alright, I don’t like the idea of taking a rest, but I’ve got a plan for where we can stay.

 

Clinton:  (Pushing his way forward).  What’ve you got in mind Derek?  (Derek points to the building across the street).  A homeless shelter?  Really?

 

Derek:  What?  You really think they’d look for us there?

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Still in disguise as a solider).  They won’t be looking there.  Not for another day at least.

 

Kyle:  A hunch, right?

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Yeah…

 

Kyle:  You sound like Jack.

 

Derek:  C’mon, everyone look as pathetic as you can manage and head through the front door.  (Waves everyone across the street, staying behind to cover them, being the last to cross).

 

Kyle:  We’ll try our best.

 

Lindsey:  (She’s still shaken up and not herself).  Why hasn’t Jack come back yet?

 

Derek:  Because he’s dead, too.  Now come on.  (Shoves her through the door).

 

Kyle:  (Grabbing her hand and leading her around).  Don’t listen to him.  In fact, don’t listen to anyone.  Just think back to some happier memories about…ponies and rainbows and Care Bears or something.

 

Lindsey:  Right…happy memories…(Begins a flash back into her memories).

 

Chris:  (Leading Lindsey around the playground at school, both of them being about 11 years old, walking up to a king-sized jungle gym).  Okay, so that over there is what we call a jungle gym.  Did you have those where you were from?

 

Lindsey:  (Smiling at the boyish charm).  Oh yeah we did, and I was the queen of them.

 

Chris:  Oh really?  Is that so?

 

Lindsey:  Yep.  (Playfully dancing around).  And I bet that I’ll be the queen here too.

 

Chris:  Nah, I bet you’re lying.

 

Lindsey:  Well then let’s find out, huh?  (Runs over to the jungle gym).

 

Chris:  Hey!  I haven’t shown you everything yet!  (Runs after her).  Wait up!

 

-Lindsey dives at the bars and swings herself gracefully up one, jumps to another, and quickly climbs her way to the very top, balancing herself on the highest bars in a super hero pose.

 

Lindsey:  How’s that?

 

Chris:  (Standing at the bottom, out of breath and stunned).  That was amazing.  How’d you do that?

 

Lindsey:  I told you, I was the queen at my old school.  Hah, and now I’m the queen here.  (Points at him).  Now bow to your new queen!  (Laughs manically).  Hohoho!

 

Chris:  (Bows mockingly).  Oh dearest queen, what would you have a lowly knight do?

 

Lindsey:  (Giggles a bit).  Hahaha, okay, I command you sir brave knight to join me at the top here.

 

Chris:  Up there?

 

Lindsey:  Yes, up here next to me.

 

Chris:  (Worried).  But…you could just as easily come down here.  In fact, it’d probably be easier.

 

Lindsey:  You’re not scared, are you?

 

Chris:  Hah, me?  Scared of what?

 

Lindsey:  Well, you’d either be scared of heights, girls, or both.

 

Chris:  Oh ho ho, I’m scared of neither.

 

Lindsey:  Really?  Then why am I up here all alone?  (Coyly rolls her eyes and her head, turning away from him).

 

Chris:  (Pauses for a second).  Alright, I’m on my way up.

 

-Chris grabs the first bar and pulls himself up.

 

-He stops and looks down instantly, closing his eyes and gulping.

 

Lindsey:  Come on, what’s taking you so long?  I’m getting tired waiting up here.  You can do this, no problem.

 

-Although his eyes are closed, Chris smiles and points his head upwards, looking at her again and instantly getting a new resolve.

 

Chris:  I’ll get there, don’t you worry about that.

 

-Chris slowly pulls himself up one bar at a time, being careful not to look down anymore.

 

-Finally he makes it to the top, quickly sitting down and taking his place next to Lindsey.

 

Lindsey:  See?  No worries.  (Finally sits down, her feet dangling).  It took you long enough though.

 

Chris:  Yeah yeah.  (He’s clutching the bars beneath him awfully tight and shaking slightly).

 

Lindsey:  Hmm, you’re definitely scared of heights, aren’t you?

 

Chris:  So what if I am?  I made it up here, didn’t I?

 

Lindsey:  True.  My brave knight has shown that he is indeed brave.  (The two playfully laugh).  So…what’s your story?

 

Chris:  What do you mean?

 

Lindsey:  I don’t know, what makes you tick?

 

Chris:  Like a bomb?  Or a robot?  I hate robots.

 

Lindsey:  No no, what defines you as a person?

 

Chris:  I’m not really sure.  I guess I’m not really old enough to get to the point where I need to know.

 

Lindsey:  Well, what makes you excited or better yet, what makes you better than everyone else?

 

Chris:  Better than everyone else?  (Shakes his head).  Nah, that’s not me.  I’m not really that good at anything.

 

Lindsey:  Sure you are.  You can probably do anything.

 

Chris:  Not really.  I can think of one person who thinks even somewhat highly of me, and that person isn’t me, it’s my friend Austin.  (Looks off).  Trust me, I’m nothing special.

 

Lindsey:  (Playfully nudges him).  Sure you are.  Hey, (pats his hand), if it makes you feel any better, I believe that you’re special on some level.

 

Chris:  (Blushes and smiles).  Hmh, thanks but I’m really not.

 

Lindsey:  Yes you are.  I believe you are, and there’s nothing that’s going to make me think otherwise.  (Looks him dead in the eyes).  I absolutely believe in you.

 

Chris:  Come on, you’ve only known me for an afternoon.

 

Lindsey:  Yes, but it’s been a good afternoon.  (Stands up and begins balancing herself on the top bars again).  Besides, I’ve gotta make a good impression on at least a few people here or else I’ll never fit in.  (Starts to quickly turn to face Chris again).  So what do you-

 

-She loses her footing and slips, screaming and falling suddenly towards the ground.

 

Chris:  Lindsey!

 

-Chris instantly dives backwards through the bars to grab her without looking, both wrapping his legs around some bars and grabbing her arm in the same motion.

 

-The two swing in midair momentarily, looking each other in the eyes, both shocked but okay.

 

Lindsey:  How did you do that?

 

Chris:  (Shakes his head).  I don’t know.

 

-The two slowly climb down and set foot on solid ground again).

 

Lindsey:  (Brushing herself off, smiling).  Hah, see, didn’t I say you could do anything?

 

Chris:  Just knowing that you believe in me makes all the difference.  (Points at his eyes).  It’s your eyes.  I can’t see an ounce of doubt in them.

 

-The two smile at each other again.

 

-Lindsey starts walking along.

 

Lindsey:  So what else is there to this school?

 

Chris:  Well, I’ll show you.  C’mon.

 

-Chris grabs her hand and starts telling her something as Lindsey snaps back to now, in a damp, dark room in the homeless shelter with Derek, Austin, Hex-Duo 7, Leena and Kyle hanging around, depressed and pathetic, the others sleeping in a separate room.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Walks up to her).  Hey, how’re you doing?

 

Lindsey:  (Looks up).  Huh?  (She smiles and a tear rolls down her cheek). I’m fine.  (Wipes the tear away).

 

Hex-Duo 7:  What were you thinking about?

 

Lindsey:  Nothing, just a friend of mine, that’s all.

 

Derek:  (From the other corner, half awake and brooding).  She’s thinking about Chris, that’s what.

 

Leena:  Hey, leave her alone, alright?

 

Derek:  Pff, she’ll live, which is more than we can say about Chris anyway.

 

Lindsey:  (Starts crying).  It was my fault…I should have helped him…he said he needed me…

 

Derek:  Yeah, ya probably should have.

 

Austin:  Hey, don’t worry about it Lindz.  I’m sure he was just happy to see you before he went.  What did you two talk about?

 

Lindsey:  (Sniffs back a tear).  I talked to him about Jack…

 

Austin:  (Shocked).  You what?!

 

Lindsey:  It shouldn’t be a secret; I like Jack okay?  Are we all happy?!

 

Derek:  (Sits up a bit).  Wait, did you just talk about Jack or did you tell Chris that you liked Jack?

 

Lindsey:  I asked for Chris’ advice about how to get Jack to like me back.

 

Derek:  (Smacks his forehead).  Holy hell!

 

Austin:  (Buries his head in his hands).  Oh no…

 

Kyle:  (Shakes his head).  Dear Christ that’s cruel.

 

Derek:  You talked to Chris about another guy you liked?  That was the last thing you talked about?

 

Lindsey:  Yes.  It shouldn’t matter though.

 

Austin:  (Defeated, looking upwards).  It does matter.  It matters a lot.

 

Leena:  He’s a close friend of hers though, why shouldn’t she be able to talk to him about it?

 

Austin:  (About to lose it and start crying himself).  She just can’t.  My God, why did you tell him that?

 

Lindsey:  (Crying again).  I’m sorry!  I didn’t know there was a problem with it!

 

Derek:  (Slumping back).  God damn.  I wouldn’t doubt the bastard just willingly let himself get killed…

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Guys, leave her alone alright?  She didn’t know what she was doing.

 

Derek:  Hey, what business do you have interfering, huh?  (Starting to get up).

 

Hex-Duo 7:  I’m just saying, stop giving her a hard time.  She didn’t know what she was doing.

 

Derek:  (Walking over to Hex-Duo 7).  She had to have known exactly what she was doing, so she’s got to realize that she’s directly responsible for part of this.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Hey, I don’t want any trouble, I’m just saying that she’s already going through a lot, so leave her be.

 

Derek:  Oh yeah?  (Grabs Hex-Duo 7’s arm and tries to force it up).  Get yer ass up!  You’ve got nothing to do with any of us, so leave!

 

-Derek pulls on Hex-Duo 7’s sleeve, tearing it off and exposing the robotic arm underneath.

 

-Derek looks back to see this and steps back a bit, aghast.

 

Derek:  Jesus Christ, he’s an android!

 

Leena:  (Group begins to panic).  What?!  He’s one of them?!

 

Austin:  (Gets to his feet).  Who are you?

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Beginning to panic as well).  I’m…I’m…

 

Derek:  (Gritting his teeth and his fists).  God damn robot, I’ll kill you.

 

Kyle:  Now now, you can’t really kill a robot.  The best you can do is turn them off.  (Derek shoots Kyle a nasty look).  However, me you can kill.  (Backs off and waves at Derek).  Proceed with the witch-hunt already in progress.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Please, I’m not like the others; I don’t want to hurt any of you.

 

Derek:  Oh yeah?  Just like the rest of you didn’t want to kill Chris, huh?

 

-Derek punches Hex-Duo 7 in the head.

 

-The robot recoils and falls to the ground, holding its face but doing nothing to fight back.

 

-Its hat has fallen off and its robot face is exposed.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Please, I mean you no harm.

 

-Hex-Duo 7 stands back up as Derek begins assaulting it viciously, beating the hell out of the robot and throwing it against the wall where it slumps back down.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Please, I beg of you.

 

Lindsey:  (Steps in between Derek and Hex-Duo 7).  Stop it!

 

Derek:  (Still advancing).  Get out of the way Lindsey.

 

Lindsey:  No.  (Kneels down and helps the robot up).  I believe him.  He’s telling the truth.

 

Austin:  Lindsey, do you know what you’re saying?

 

Lindsey:  Do you?  Chris wouldn’t have let this happen, not without knowing for sure.

 

Austin:  Lindsey…

 

Derek:  Lindsey, Chris is dead.  He’s no longer a part of this team.

 

Lindsey:  That doesn’t matter!  (Helps Hex-Duo 7 up).  Are you alright?

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Why are you doing this?

 

Lindsey:  I’m doing this as a favor to a friend.  I don’t know why but I trust you.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Looks into her eyes and smiles).  Just knowing that you believe me makes all the difference.  I can tell you’re not lying.  (Points at its eyes).  It’s your eyes.  I can’t see an ounce of doubt in them.

 

-Lindsey gasps and backs away from Hex-Duo 7, tears streaming down her face, her hand covering her mouth.  She’s beginning to hyperventilate and lose it completely.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Holds its hand out at her).  Lindsey…

 

Derek:  You may have her fooled but I’m not so gullible.  (Starts to advance on Hex-Duo 7).

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Its hands are grasped together in a praying position, begging).  Please, just leave me alone.  I’ve done nothing but help you all since I’ve been with you.

 

Derek:  Lies.

 

Lindsey:  (In between sobs).  Derek…leave him alone, please…

 

Derek:  (Getting angry and backhanding her).  Stay out of this!

 

-Hex-Duo 7s personality instantly changes, going from pathetic to furious in seconds.

 

Hex-Duo 7:  Don’t you touch her!

 

PLOOM!!!

 

-Hex-Duo 7 vwings in front of Derek, booting him with both feet in the chest, hurling Derek crashing through the wall and out the side of the building, skidding uncontrollably down the block.

 

-Derek finally stops skidding and grabs his chest.

 

Derek:  Guh…gnn…huhh…

 

-He coughs up an unhealthy amount of blood and loses consciousness, his eyes rolled back and his head resting on the pavement.

 

Kyle:  (Looking from the robot to the hole in the wall to the others and back again).  Well why couldn’t any of us have just done that three months ago?

 

-Clinton, Danny, Willy, Kevin and Scott run into the room.

 

Clinton:  Guys, what’s…?  (They all see Hex-Duo 7 and stop instantly).  A Hex-Duo robot?!

 

Hex-Duo 7:  (Holding up its hand and looking worried again).  No, this isn’t what it looks like!

 

-The others stand ready to fight as Kevin notices the hole in the wall and Derek’s position a few blocks down the road.

 

Kevin:  Lord help us…

 

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

