Eclipse Star: Genesis Chapter Thirty-Seven and a Half

May 7, 2009 at 2:19 am (Eclipse Star: Genesis) (, )

*Author’s Note:  The reason why this small chapter is titled “The Prologue” is because originally I thought about making this come before Chapter 1.  However, I still had rewriting to do, and figured there might be a chance for my writing to get better by the time I got here again.  But the tricky thing about this chapter is that it’s supposed to be a first-person telling from a 17-year-old, and thus it shouldn’t be brilliant or overly witty or anything.  As of now I am still undecided on where to place this chapter, but for the time being it shall be Chapter Thirty-Seven and a Half.  Enjoy.

Eclipse Star: Chapter 37 and a Half

“The Prologue”

 

            Hi everyone.  My name is Chris Collins, and at this very moment my world is going through a transitional period.  What exactly does this mean?  I can’t really explain it, but I’ll do my best.  You see, about half a year ago, I was just your average high school sophomore.  I was bored at school, bored with life, and chasing after a girl who would never return the sentiments.  Yep, life was great.

            Yeah, it was great.  But then we were forced to go on a pathetic fieldtrip to a museum so that our class could look at a shiny rock.  Yes, my life changed because of a stupid chunk of granite called the Eclipse Star.  On the day that we were supposed to go to this museum, a group of terrorists decided that this was the perfect day to attempt a theft of the Eclipse Star.  Since then, we haven’t had normal lives.  None of us.

            As you can see, the area around here isn’t exactly safe grounds.  Where are we?  Oh, we’re at the Legion, Trillium City headquarters.  I know that probably doesn’t mean much to you, and honestly, it doesn’t mean much to me either, but this is where I’ve been living for the past half of a year.  Me and my group.  Well, it isn’t exactly my group per say, but I’m part of it nonetheless.

            There, that guy.  You see that guy, with the hat on?  The one yelling at the robot in the middle of the group of robots?  That’s Jack.  I blame him for why we’re here.  Then again I blame just about all of my problems on him at this point.  He convinced us to join up with the Legion and since then he’s been a real jerk.  Okay, I’m exaggerating, he’s a perfectly acceptable person but…well I have my reasons for not liking him right now.  He’s kinda the leader of our group at the moment, but that’s just because Derek hasn’t been able to properly mutiny for the position, though why he’d want it is beyond me.

            Oh, Derek’s the one making a mad dash at the big horned robot right now.  Yep, he’s got that crazy look in his eyes that he gets whenever he’s pissed off and needs to prove something.  And yeah, that hit looks like it probably hurt him pretty bad.  Anyway, he’s been my rival since we were little kids, so I suppose since little kids aren’t supposed to have mortal enemies, we’re considered close friends.

            Where’s Austin…oh, there, the tall redheaded guy holding his gut.  Yep, I’m seeing a pattern with these robots.  Perhaps attacking them is not the best strategy.  Sorry, I’m getting sidetracked.  Austin there is my best friend and always has been, and most likely always will be.  I was surprised when he agreed to come along with me to this place, but that’s what friends do for one another.  They stick together.  Until the bitter end.  Yeah, this end seems pretty bitter right now.

            Ah…there she is…  You see that cute girl down there who’s crying?  The one with long blond hair that frames her face so perfectly?  That’s Lindsey.  I’ll bet you’d be surprised to hear this but, well I’m madly in love with her.  Lame, yes, pathetic, yes.  I don’t care.  She’s got Jack; I’m just the nice guy that she can talk to.  Even more than her best friend Leena, who as you can see is currently running away far off in the distance.  I hate her so much sometimes…

            Dang Derek, that was a serious shot you just took.  Oh hey, Kevin’s there, too.  That kinda black kid, kinda white kid, crap I can’t describe people…milano!  Yeah, that milano kid over there is my close friend Kevin.  We used to be best friends a long time ago when I used to go to church.  I stopped going for one reason or another…anyways, doesn’t matter.  What matters is that Kevin came along with me as well just because I asked him to.  You don’t find friends like that everyday.  Wish I’d have talked to him more lately…  No wait, milano is a cookie.  What am I thinking of?

            Basically everyone you see around here is connected to me somehow.  The two guys holding themselves and panicking, you know, the crazy-haired redhead and the tall sexy handsome guy with a short goatee?  Those are Danny and Willy.  They’re not exactly the smartest monkeys in the bunch, but for one reason or another they decided to come along as well.  Sure, I was friends with them throughout my short high school career, but I never realized how good of friends they were until they came along.

            Clinton though, the skinny black kid with glasses, he came for Derek.  Although I’d like to think that he stayed for me.  I’ll admit, I didn’t get close to a lot of people I’ve met lately, or ever for that matter, but that doesn’t mean that they’re any less important.  Take Scott for example.  Where did he go…aha!  There he is, trying to blend into a group of people fleeing the area.  You can tell which one he is because he’s the only on with a cigarette in his mouth.  He came along just for the hell of it, but I don’t even think he wants to stay anymore.  Hell, I don’t even want to stay anymore.

            And then there’s Kyle, the last of our group.  You know, it surprises me most but Kyle and I have become chums.  Maybe not best friends, but chums at the very least.  You see, he’s very aloof.  He’d like to have heard me say that.  Too bad.  I am grateful that he’s holding onto Lindsey though so that she doesn’t do anything stupid like try and fight one of these robots.  Everyone else fighting these robots keeps taking was appears to be severe bodily damage.

            Forgive me; I keep forgetting that you’re not exactly here right now witnessing this scene.  It’s all secondhand through me.  Well, I don’t entirely know what’s happening either, but as far as I can tell, our base was attacked by a group of killer robots.  I hate it when that happens.  Hate.  I blame Syrus.

            Right right, you don’t know who that is either.  He’s the guy that was in charge of the museum heist; the one who wanted the Eclipse Star.  He works for the Demon Regime, basically our competing military group.  They’re assholes, but then again they probably say the same about us.  Basically, it’s his fault that we’re all here.  His fault and Jack’s.

            And then there’s…actually I don’t know that guy from our group.  There, that guy in the hat and the uniform.  I’ve never seen him before.  Then again, I hardly see anything anymore, what with being bedridden for so very, very long.

            Where am I…?  Oh, see that guy who just jumped out of the flaming building?  That would be me.  This is not my proudest moment.  I just go from one robot to the other, getting pelted with metallic hands.  God that hurt.  Did you see my cheekbone break from that punch?  Technically I didn’t see it either, but I’m pretty sure it happened.  Just one blow after another.  There’s one that shattered my nose…and here’s the point where my ribs stopped existing altogether.  These guys just showed up out of nowhere and started attacking us.  I’m guessing that it’s the Demon Regime, but I’m never good with these sort of guessing games.

            You see, the Demon Regime hates the Legion, but most specifically, they hate our little group.  Probably me most of all.  I don’t know why but I’m guessing that they must hate me or else they wouldn’t make these robots attack me exclusively to the point that it’s kinda cheap.  Could be because I’m the reason they didn’t get the Eclipse Star in the first place?  I have no idea what the Eclipse Star is either, so stop asking me.  I keep asking people and all I know is that if I knew what it was I’d get less sleep than I already do.

            So this is my story.  Well, more appropriately, this is the story of my friends and what’s happening to all of us.  Actually, I’m just gonna go right ahead and say that this is the story about the Eclipse Star, because at some point I really want to know why it’s so important.  Eventually all of these people you see are going to change radically.  I mean, they already have.  They know how to do things that you couldn’t even think of doing yourself.  It took us a while to get here, as you may have realized at this point already.  You do look like a smart bunch of people.

            Like I was saying, this is the story of the Eclipse Star and the people whose lives it destroyed.  These people will get away from here.  Rest assured they don’t meet a fate as terrible as getting killed by soulless machines.  Me on the other hand…well…as you can see, I probably just had my jaw broken for the fifth time in under a minute, so I doubt I’m about to play much more in the telling of this story.

            Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to get the crap blasted outta me.

 

            This is Eclipse Star…

Leave a Reply

